Pakistan have won the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy after pulling off an incredible 180-run victory over arch-rivals India at The Oval in London.

After being handsomely beaten by India in the tournament opener, Pakistan gained a measure of revenge in the final to win an ICC title as London witnessed unbridled celebrations.

Pakistan were sent in to bat but they made the most of a belter of a wicket with Fakhar Zaman (114) and Azhar Ali (59) putting on a 128-run stand for the opening wicket. Fakhar was helped by a reprieve early on when Bumrah had him edge to Dhoni off a no-ball. India’s spinners, Ashwin and Jadeja, were very poor as Pakistan accelerated in the middle overs while Bumrah struggled with discipline. Only Bhuvi and Hardik bowled well as Pakistan posted a huge total of 338/4, with Hafeez scoring a quickfire 57* as well.

YOU MISSED THIS?  BREAKING: Herdsmen sack Ondo council secretariat

India’s chase was derailed early on by Mohammed Amir who trapped Rohit Sharma and had Virat Kohli edge a ball to point. Though Shikhar Dhawan looked menacing, Amir dismissed him as well to all but end the chase. Dhoni, Jadhav and Yuvraj fell meekly as India slumped to 72/6. But Hardik Pandya (76) played a blinder of an innings, laced with six sixes and four fours and it seemed like India might make a game of it. But a mixup between Jadeja and Pandya saw the latter get runout and the rest was mere formality.

YOU MISSED THIS?  President Buhari To Appoint More Ministers*

In the end, Pakistan celebrated a famous triumph after being dominated by India in ICC tournaments of late. As far as India’s performance goes, this loss can only be termed as ‘limp’.