The Senate has commenced the process to rename eight colleges of education to align the location of the institutions affected by
boundary adjustment as a result of state creation.

The process to rename the institutions is coming more than 20 years after the states were created. A bill for the amendment of the
colleges of education act to rename the institutions was sponsored by Senator Muhammadu Ubali Shitu (APC, Jigawa).

The proposed law seeks to replace the word Bauchi with Gombe, Kwara with Kogi, Gongola with Adamawa, Bendel with Delta, Sokoto with Gusau and Borno with Yobe in the law of the colleges education. It also sought to include a new paragraph in the law,” Federal college of education, Malam Madori, Jigawa state”.

YOU MISSED THIS?  West Ham star Lanzini banned for dive at Stoke

Declaring open the public hearing, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki said the institutions have long been recognised with their new states but that the law on the institutions bears old names.

YOU MISSED THIS?  I Won't Work Against Gbenga Daniel - Fayose

Supporting the moves, the Executive Secretary of National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Professor Bappa
Aliyu Muhammad said the amendment was long overdue