Spread the love


Tournament: World Cup
Stage: Group F
Referee: Alireza Faghani
Stadium: Luzhniki
Match Date: Sunday, June 17,2018


This will be the fourth World Cup encounter between Germany and Mexico. ‘Die Mannschaft’ are unbeaten, with two wins (6-0 in the first group stage in 1978; 2-1 in the round of 16 in 1998) and one draw (0-0 in the 1986 quarter-finals, followed by a 4-1 victory on penalties).

Mexico have only won one of their 11 games against Germany (D5 L5), it was in June 1985 in Mexico City. Their only previous encounter on Russian soil was in last year’s Confederations Cup – Germany won 4-1 in the semi-finals.

Germany have won their opening game in each of the last seven World Cups, including scoring 20 goals in their last four openers (8 v Saudi Arabia in 2002, 4 v Costa Rica in 2006, 4 v Australia in 2010, 4 v Portugal in 2014).

YOU MISSED THIS?  Kevin-Prince Boateng honoured for leading fight against racism

Mexico are unbeaten in their last five World Cup opening games (W4 D1), their last defeat dating back to 1994 against Norway (0-1).

Only Brazil (21) have reached the World Cup more times than Germany (19). This is also their 17th consecutive participation.

Germany will be looking to become the first team to win back-to-back World Cup titles since Brazil achieved it 1962. Overall, only Brazil have lifted the trophy on more occasions (5) than Germany (4).

Germany were the only team to win all 10 of their games in the UEFA qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup, registering the best goal difference (+39).

Germany have reached the semi-finals of the World Cup in each of the last four editions, the longest current streak of any team. In fact, they have topped their group in every single World Cup since 1990.

Mexico have qualified for the World Cup for the 16th time – only Brazil, Germany, Italy and Argentina have made the tournament on more occasions.

YOU MISSED THIS?  WEEK 11: West Ham United vs Liverpool Match Facts (2017/2018)

Among the eight teams to have qualified for the World Cup at least 14 times, Mexico are the only one yet to win the tournament. They’ve never progressed further than the second round outside their own borders.

Mexico have been knocked out in the round of 16 in each of the last six World Cups; they have lost only two of their last 17 group games (W8 D7).

Germany’s Thomas Müller has scored more goals (10) and delivered more assists (6) at the World Cup than any other currently active player.

Germany’s Joshua Kimmich delivered more assists than any other player in the 2018 European World Cup qualifiers (9).

This is Joachim Löw’s sixth major tournament as Germany manager. He has reached the semi-finals in each of his five previous tournaments (finalist at EURO 2008, third-place at World Cup 2010, semi-finalist at EURO 2012, winner at World Cup 2014, semi-finalist at EURO 2016).

YOU MISSED THIS?  Harry Kane wins Premier League Player of the Month

This will be Juan Carlos Osorio’s first World Cup campaign as manager. He’ll look to become the first Mexico boss since Bora Milutinovic in 1986 to lead the team to the quarter-finals of the tournament.